Logo futureLAB
Together we create
a safer world
Here at futureLAB, we are making a concerted effort to build a safer future, with our software solution designed to improve digital evidence preservation for police.

Our diverse team is made up of staff aged between 25 and 55. We work closely with police forces all over the world to develop Smartpolice: a software solution for recording, managing and processing digital media.

Together we are creating a safer world. This spurs us on day after day and reinforces our close relationship with our customers.

Team

Thanks to our wide range of talent in software development, usability and business administration, we are able to continuously develop not only the solution we offer, but also ourselves as a team. We support one another and treat our team-mates with respect. Ensuring a pleasant working environment is important to us, which is why we make the effort to get to know each other’s varying needs and interests. This means we can be genuinely responsive and help one another, whatever the situation.

Portrait photo of Annette Meier
Annette Meier

Finance

ameier@futurelab.ch
Portrait photo of Andreas Stricker
Andreas Stricker

Support,
system administration

astricker@futurelab.ch
Portrait photo of Beat Saurenmann
Beat Saurenmann

iOS development

bsaurenmann@futurelab.ch
Portrait photo of Hans Groff
Hans Groff, CEO

Managing director,
sales

hgroff@futurelab.ch
Portrait photo of Josef Weibel
Josef Weibel

Front-end development,
back-end development

jweibel@futurelab.ch
Portrait photo of Manfred Stock
Manfred Stock

Back-end development,
system administration

mstock@futurelab.ch
Portrait photo of Micha Surber
Micha Surber, COO

Head of operations,
front-end development

msurber@futurelab.ch
Portrait photo of Oliver Gruber
Oliver Gruber, CDO

UX & product design,
front-end development

ogruber@futurelab.ch
Portrait photo of Philipp Klaus
Philipp Klaus

Back-end development,
system administration

pklaus@futurelab.ch
Portrait photo of Urs Holzer
Urs Holzer

Front-end development,
back-end development

uholzer@futurelab.ch
Our values

We nurture long-term partnerships based on trust, reliability and quality. We are curious and open to new ideas, focused on finding solutions and work together to create cutting-edge products.

Safety is our top priority, including the protection of data. We feel we have a duty, not only towards our customers but towards society as a whole. That is why our software is designed to help police conform to data protection standards and comply with deletion deadlines.

Diversity is important to us: the fact that our staff range in age from 25 to 55 is something we appreciate. We also believe it is important for a variety of interests and views to be considered. Although our team currently consists mainly of Swiss men, we are keen to change this. Our aim is to make our team more diverse to reflect the diversity found in society.

Where it all began…

In 2000 we started to digitise business processes and to develop highly scalable systems, such as solutions for managing digital media like images and videos. Our Smartpolice software was born out of a rise in demand from emergency services for solutions of this kind, and the fact that we really enjoyed working closely with them. Since 2005 we have been focusing exclusively on Smartpolice, because we believe it will help us make the world a safer place.

Portraitfoto von Matthias Aebi
Matthias Aebi
Founder and Chairman
Our working environment

Our team members distribute tasks amongst themselves and new ideas are always welcome. This enables us to constantly refine our existing processes too. We take an agile approach and share our thoughts and ideas in daily stand-up discussions and weekly sprint meetings. Of course, we also communicate via video calls, since working from home is an option we can offer at any time and working hours are flexible too.

We work with open-source software and support the community. Our server runs Debian Linux and is managed using Puppet, with Postgres used as a database. When it comes to development, we believe code quality is key, so unit tests and code reviews form an integral part of our work. We also advocate user-centred design – we develop our product for people rather than for the sake of information technology. We have factored usability principles into our development process and incorporate design reviews in our agile cycles. New functions and positions are created based on interest, dedication or market demand. Support is given to anyone specialising in a particular area, who in turn offer coaching to other team members.

Our office boasts what is arguably the highest barbecue in Winterthur with a stunning view over the city. Snacks are also provided, and coffee is available to order entirely to suit personal tastes. We also have an annual 10-day training budget, which anyone is free to use. There is a choice of working equipment on offer, including operating systems and development environments.

From taking evidence
to passing sentences

Smartpolice is a software solution for police forces and other emergency services. It is designed to help with recording, managing and processing digital media. As a modular complete solution, it makes day-to-day life easier, speeds up processes and boosts success rates – thus improving public safety both in Switzerland and beyond.

More about Smartpolice

Enough about us – we want to get to know you and your requirements.
You can get in touch with us by telephone, e-mail or by paying us a visit.

Contact us

Do you need our logo?

Download our brand guide for futureLAB und Smartpolice, consisting of logos, icons and color definitions.

It would be great if you'd drop us a note what you used our logos for.

Download brand guide

Logo futureLAB
Together we create
a safer world
Wir von futureLAB machen gemeinsam die Zukunft sicherer: unsere Software-Lösung verbessert die digitale Beweissicherung in der Polizeiarbeit.

Wir von futureLAB sind ein vielfältiges Team ​von Mitarbeitenden zwischen 25 und 55 Jahren​. Wir entwickeln in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Polizeibehörden weltweit Smartpolice: eine Softwarelösung für die Erfassung, Verwaltung und Aufbereitung digitaler Medien.

Gemeinsam die Welt sicherer machen. Das motiviert uns Tag für Tag und verbindet uns in der engen Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kundinnen und Kunden.

Team

Dank unseren unterschiedlichen Talenten in den Bereichen Softwareentwicklung, Usability und Betriebswirtschaft entwickeln wir unsere Lösung und auch uns als Team​ laufend weiter. ​Wir unterstützen uns gegenseitig und gehen wertschätzend und respektvoll miteinander um. Eine angenehme Arbeitsatmosphäre ist uns wichtig. Darum kennen wir die unterschiedlichen Bedürfnisse voneinander und wissen, welche Themen jeweils bewegen. So können wir wirklich aufeinander eingehen und der Person in der jeweiligen Situation helfen.

Portraitfoto von Annette Meier
Annette Meier

Finanzwesen

Portraitfoto von Andreas Stricker
Andreas Stricker

Support,
Systemadministration

Portraitfoto von Beat Saurenmann
Beat Saurenmann

iOS-Entwicklung

Portraitfoto von Hans Groff
Hans Groff, CEO

Geschäftsleitung,
Verkauf

Portraitfoto von Josef Weibel
Josef Weibel

Front-End-Entwicklung,
Back-End-Entwicklung

Portraitfoto von Manfred Stock
Manfred Stock

Back-End-Entwicklung,
Systemadministration

Portraitfoto von Micha Surber
Micha Surber, COO

Leitung Operations,
Front-End-Entwicklung

Portraitfoto von Oliver Gruber
Oliver Gruber, CDO

UX & Product Design,
Front-End-Entwicklung

Portraitfoto von Philipp Klaus
Philipp Klaus

Back-End-Entwicklung,
Systemadministration

Portraitfoto von Urs Holzer
Urs Holzer

Front-End-Entwicklung,
Back-End-Entwicklung

Unsere Werte

Wir pflegen langfristige und partnerschaftliche Beziehungen, die auf Vertrauen, Zuverlässigkeit und Qualität basieren. Wir sind offen und neugierig, gehen lösungsorientiert vor und schaffen miteinander fortschrittliche Produkte.

Sicherheit steht für uns an erster Stelle, auch beim Schutz von Daten. Nicht nur gegenüber unserer Kundschaft fühlen wir uns verpflichtet, sondern auch für die Gesellschaft. Darum unterstützt unsere Software Polizeibehörden, sich datenschutzkonform zu verhalten und die Löschfristen einzuhalten.

Diversität ist uns ein wichtiges Anliegen: Wir sind zwischen 25 und 55 Jahre alt und schätzen diese breite Altersspanne. Auch ist uns wichtig, dass verschiedene Interessen und Meinungen vertreten sind. Unser Team besteht zurzeit jedoch primär aus Schweizer Männern. Das möchten wir ändern. So selbstverständlich für uns im Alltag die Diversität unserer Gesellschaft ist, so wünschen wir uns dasselbe für unser Team. Darum wollen wir uns zu einem diverseren Team entwickeln.

Wo alles begann…

2000 haben wir angefangen, Geschäftsprozesse zu digitalisieren und hochskalierbare Systeme zu entwickeln, beispielsweise für das Management von digitalen Medien wie Bildern und Videos. Da die Nachfrage von Blaulichtorganisationen für solche Lösungen stieg und uns die enge Zusammenarbeit viel Freude bereitete, entstand unsere Software Smartpolice. Seit 2005 fokussieren wir uns ganz darauf, ​weil wir daran glauben, die Welt damit sicherer zu machen.

Portraitfoto von Matthias Aebi
Matthias Aebi
Gründer und VR-Präsident
Unser Arbeitsumfeld

Das Team verteilt die Aufgaben untereinander selbst und Ideen sind jederzeit willkommen. Darum passen wir auch bestehende Prozesse laufend an. Wir gehen agil vor und tauschen uns täglich in Stand-up und wöchentlich Sprint-Meeting aus. Natürlich auch per Videocall, da Homeoffice bei uns jederzeit möglich ist und auch die Arbeitszeiten flexibel sind.

Wir arbeiten mit Opensource-Software und unterstützen die Community. Unsere Server laufen auf Debian Linux, werden mit Puppet verwaltet und wir verwenden Postgres als Datenbank. In der Entwicklung ist uns Code-Qualität wichtig, darum sind Unit-Tests und Code-Reviews feste Bestandteile unserer Arbeit. Auch legen wir Wert auf User-Centered-Design – das Produkt entwickeln wir für Menschen und nicht für die IT. Wir berücksichtigten in der Entwicklung Usability-Prinzipien und Design-Reviews sind in unsere agilen Zyklen integriert. Neue Funktionen oder Positionen entstehen aufgrund Interessen, Engagement oder wenn der Markt es verlangt. Wer auf ein bestimmtes Gebiet spezialisiert ist unterstützt und coacht die anderen Teammitglieder.

In unseren Büros mit dem vermutlich höchstgelegenen Grill von Winterthur, stehen Snacks bereit und Kaffee können alle ganz nach ihrem eigenen Geschmack bestellen. Auch, wie man die 10 Tage Ausbildungsbudget pro Jahr nutzen will steht jedem frei. Ebenso die Wahl des Arbeitsgerätes, inklusive Betriebssystem und Entwicklungsumgebung.

Von der Beweisaufnahme
bis zum Urteil

Smartpolice ist eine Softwarelösung für Polizeikorps und andere Blaulichtorganisationen. Sie unterstützt bei der Erfassung, Verwaltung und Aufbereitung digitaler Medien. Die modulare Komplettlösung vereinfacht die tägliche Arbeit, beschleunigt Prozesse und steigert die Erfolgsrate und damit die öffentliche Sicherheit in der Schweiz und im Ausland.

Mehr zu Smartpolice

Genug über uns: gerne lernen wir Sie und Ihre Anliegen kennen.
Telefonisch, per E-Mail oder persönlich vor Ort.

So erreichen Sie uns

Benötigen Sie unser Logo?

Hier können Sie den Brand Guide für futureLAB und Smartpolice herunterladen, bestehend aus Logos, Icons und Farbdefinitionen.

Wir würden uns freuen wenn Sie uns kurz mitteilen, wozu Sie unsere Logos verwendet haben.

Brand Guide herunterladen